Thread: fund-raising relief campaign

Hybrid View

Default fund-raising relief campaign

My name is Rusty Zimmerman, writing from Oakland, California, USA. I'm just beginning to organize a massive fund-raising relief campaign and i'd like to know, from your perspective, what you think is the best way for someone like me to help. Are there charities to contribute to that you find to be more effective than others. What do people need most out there? is it water, food, medicine, etc? do tell. Your contribution will be much appreciated in helping me to direct my energies and the funds that i am set to raise.

thanks in advance, and i look forward to talking to you soon.

--rusty zimmerman

Oakland, CA, USA

tummy_rub@hotmail.com

Unregistered Unregistered

Default Rotary Clubs are on the Front Lines of Relief

Thanks for you concern and offer for assistance. In Thailand, money is what is most useful. It makes no sense to send anything all the way from the USA to Thailand, shipping costs will cost more than the goods sent and they will get hung up in customs with high taxes.

I am with the Rotary Club of Patong Beach; we have from day 1 set up several projects and relief commitments. We Rotarians, unlike major NGO's, have no staff expenses or overhead what so ever. 100% of what we get goes into relief. Following is a summary of our relief programs:

The tsunami has been a terrible tragedy and the exact toll of this disaster will never be fully measured. However, even in the difficult days of recovery and rebuilding, the outpouring of kindness from around the world brings gladness to the hearts of everyone touched by the disaster.

We will strive to keep you informed of the relief efforts which your kind donation allows. Our main vehicle for communication will be our website www.rotarypatong.org where we will post updates.

The members of the Rotary Club of Patong Beach have identified 7 projects in which the donations will be used:

Short Term Relief: